in Council, subject to any Act of the Parliament of Canada applying to the Territories, respecting such matters as direct taxation within the Territories to raise revenue, establishment and tenure of territorial offices, maintenance of municipal institutions, licences, administration of civil justice, education, public health and generally all matters of a local nature. The administration of the Territories under the Northwest Territories Act and the ordinances passed by the Commissioner in Council is carried on by the Northern Administration and Lands Branch of the Department of Resources and Development. A federal Administrative Officer serves at each of the following Territorial centres: Fort Smith, Aklavik, Hay River and Yellowknife. The seat of government is at Ottawa.

COUNCIL OF THE NORTHWEST TERRITORIES (AS AT MAR. 31, 1953)

Commissioner Major-General Hugh A. Young, C.B., C.B.E., D.S.O. Deputy Commissioner..... F. J. G. CUNNINGHAM Members of the Council-Appointed...... Louis de la C. Audette, W. I. Clements, D. M. MacKay, F. J. G. CUNNINGHAM, L. H. NICHOLSON Elected...... James Brodie, Frank Carmichael, Mervyn Hardie Officers of the Council-

Secretary..... R. BOUCHARD Legal Adviser..... Wm. Nason

Section 3.—Municipal Government*

The earliest local government in Canada was carried out by the seigneurs of New France who bore, along with military command and the administration of justice, the responsibilities of appointing justices of the peace and clerks of roads. Some of these officers were soon replaced by a 'syndic' elected by the people, the first in 1644, though a mayor and two aldermen had held office briefly in the city of Quebec in 1643. When the syndics fell into disuse, such powers were delegated by the Governor to officials. The City of Quebec was incorporated in 1832, and the system of local government for the province decreed in 1840 was later remodelled by Acts of 1845, 1847, 1850 and 1860.

In the Atlantic Provinces, Saint John, N.B., had attained the distinction of becoming Canada's first incorporated city in 1785. Incorporation of Halifax, N.S., came in 1841 and Charlottetown, P.E.I., in 1855. In Newfoundland, St. John's was created a town in 1888.

The Ontario Parish and Town Officers Act of 1793 provided for an annual meeting in a parish or township to appoint local officers responsible to Parliament and the courts, but the meetings had no law-making powers. Brockville, in 1832, gained from the Governor in Council some local powers that had previously been exercised through the courts. In 1834, York was incorporated as the self-governing city of Toronto. The Municipal Act of 1849 became the foundation of the local government in Ontario and later provided a model for the western provinces. Subsequently, Acts have been passed in all provinces governing aspects of municipal incorporation, powers and duties. Constitutional provision that jurisdiction over municipal affairs would rest with the provinces has resulted, quite naturally, in dissimilarity in the organization of local government across the country. This

^{*} Prepared in the Public Finance and Transportation Division, Dominion Bureau of Statistics.